NASCAR at Talladega live race updates, results, highlights from the YellaWood 500

Forty cars will line up on Sunday to compete in what will likely be one of NASCAR’s most chaotic races of the season.

The NASCAR Cup Series is hosting the second Round of 12 race at Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama. Although the weather may cause some delays, the drivers will race 188 laps in order to advance to the next round. With 40 cars on the track, crashes and collisions will be challenging to avoid.

Denny Hamlin is the defending Talladega champion, stealing victory in 2020 by .023 seconds. Coming off a win at Las Vegas Motor Speedway last week, Hamlin already secured his position into the next round. Hamlin and Kyle Busch are expected to lead into the green flag, followed by Chase Elliott and Ryan Blaney.

Team Penske has won five of the last seven playoff races at Talladega, and Ford has nine drivers with prior wins. Eighth-place driver Brad Keselowski leads the manufacturer with six wins, including the spring 2021 event. Seventh-place driver Joey Logano has three wins for Ford; Blaney has two and Kevin Harvick, one.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and highlights from the YellaWood 500 on Sunday. Follow for complete results from the 2021 NASCAR Playoff Cup Series.

MORE: Watch the YellaWood 500 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Talladega Superspeedway updates, highlights from YellaWood 500

All times Eastern.

3:03: The cars finally exit the garages and head for pit road, the broadcast confirms the race will start in approximately 30 minutes.

2:10: Jet driers attempt to dry the track following a drizzle. The race is under a rain delay, follow for weather updates. 

NASCAR start time today

  • Time (ET): 2 p.m.
  • TV channel: NBC
  • Live stream:, NBC Sports App, fuboTV

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on Talladega Superspeedway’s 2.66-mile oval is scheduled to drop at 2 p.m. ET.

Potential showers will likely be the biggest weather concern on Sunday. The National Weather Service’s forecast for Lincoln, Ala. shows a chance of showers and possibly a thunderstorm after 1 p.m., with a high near 79. There is a chance the race may encounter a rain delay. It is scheduled to begin in the afternoon and end around sunset Eastern time.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson leads the playoff standings as the second Round of 12 race begins. On the other end are the drivers below the cut line: William Byron, Kevin Harvick, Alex Bowman and Christopher Bell. Byron trails eighth-place driver Brad Keselowski by only four points.

A playoff driver who wins a race in the Round of 12 automatically advances to the next round.

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle Larson 3096
2 Denny Hamlin 3082
3 Kyle Busch 3074
4 Martin Truex Jr. 3070
5 Ryan Blaney 3063
6 Chase Elliott 3061
7 Joey Logano 3045
8 Brad Keselowski 3043
9 William Byron 3039
10 Kevin Harvick 3036
11 Alex Bowman 3030
12 Christopher Bell 3018

NASCAR starting lineup at Talladega Speedway

Here is the complete NASCAR starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway, the YellaWood 500.

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske Ford
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske Ford
8 P-Joey Logano 22 Penske Ford
9 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
11 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Daniel Suárez 99 Trackhouse Racing
19 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
20 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
21 Rickey Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
23 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
25 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
27 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
28 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
33 Justin Allgaier 77 Spire Motorsports
34 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Garrett Smithley 15 Rick Ware Racing
38 Justin Haley 16 Kaulig Racing
39 David Starr 66 Motorsports Business Management
40 Landon Cassill 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing

Source link