NASCAR at Talladega live race updates, results, highlights from postponed YellaWood 500

NASCAR’s most chaotic race of the season is about to get crazier. 

Forty cars will line up for the YellaWood 500 race on Monday at 1 p.m. ET after the initial start time was postponed due to rain. The NASCAR Cup Series is hosting the second Round of 12 race at the Talladega Superspeedway in Lincoln, Alabama.

Denny Hamlin is the defending Talladega champion, stealing victory in 2020 by .023 seconds. Coming off a win at Las Vegas Motor Speedway last week, Hamlin already secured his position into the next round. Hamlin and Kyle Busch are expected to lead into the green flag, followed by Chase Elliott and Ryan Blaney.

Team Penske has won five of the last seven playoff races at Talladega, and Ford has nine drivers with prior wins. Eighth-place driver Brad Keselowski leads the manufacturer with six wins, including the spring 2021 event. Seventh-place driver Joey Logano has three wins for Ford; Blaney has two and Kevin Harvick, one.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and highlights from the YellaWood 500 on Sunday. Follow for complete results from the 2021 NASCAR Playoff Cup Series.

MORE: Watch NASCAR at Talladega live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Talladega live updates, highlights from YellaWood 500

Live updates will start at 1 p.m. ET.

All times Eastern.

1:45: Keselowski and Buescher lead the pack to lap the last couple of cars with 13 laps remaining in the first stage.  

1:38: Brad Keselowski and Chris Buescher take the lead for Team Ford as they are forced into the middle. Joey Logano trails the duo as they are pushed to the outside.

1:34: Denny Hamlin climbs up to seventh on the inside line. Kevin Harvick stays at the front followed by Ryan Blaney at lap 36.

1:28: Harvick is first off pit road. Chase Elliott swerves to avoid a collision with Cody Ware.

1:26: Chase Elliott slid a full length ahead of his box on pit road. 

1:25: Custer is first on pit road followed by Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Brad Keselowski. 

1:22: The inside line settles down with Custer at the lead, competition caution flag is waved at lap 26.

1:20: Cole Custer takes the lead from Harvick ahead of the competition caution. The line in the third lane is finally starting to drop to the rear.

1:15: Matt DiBenedetto briefly took the lead, but Kyle Larson gets in front after the first 16 laps of stage one. 

1:12: Kevin Harvick takes the lead in lap six as Joey Logano pushes him on the right. The cars are all tightly packed in three lanes.

1:10: It doesn’t take long for Kyle Busch to take the lead ahead of Chase Elliott. Denny Hamlin drops to the back. 

1:05: The second Round of 12 race is underway. 

12:53: Drivers report to their cars and start their engines. 

12:30: Cars are being pushed onto the grid ahead of the 1:05 p.m. green flag.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time (ET): 1 p.m. 
  • TV channel: NBCSN
  • Live stream:, NBC Sports App, fuboTV

The green flag for Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Talladega is scheduled to drop at 1 p.m. ET after the race was postponed from Sunday due to rain.

How to watch NASCAR at Talladega

  • TV channel: NBCSN (TSN3 in Canada)
  • Live stream: | NBC Sports App | fuboTV (7-day free trial)
  • Radio: MRN

NBCSN programming will begin at noon ET with the network’s “Countdown to Green” prerace show, hosted by Marty Snider with analysts Brad Daugherty and Kyle Petty. Race coverage will begin at 1 p.m. ET on Monday.

Rick Allen will handle play-by-play duties for the race while Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton and Steve Letarte will provide analysis. Snider, Kelli Stavast, Dave Burns and Parker Kligerman are the pit reporters this weekend. Rutledge Wood will be a “specialty reporter,” in the words of NBC.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson leads the playoff standings as the second Round of 12 race begins. On the other end are the drivers below the cut line: William Byron, Kevin Harvick, Alex Bowman and Christopher Bell. Byron trails eighth-place driver Brad Keselowski by only four points.

A playoff driver who wins a race in the Round of 12 automatically advances to the next round.

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle Larson 3096
2 Denny Hamlin 3082
3 Kyle Busch 3074
4 Martin Truex Jr. 3070
5 Ryan Blaney 3063
6 Chase Elliott 3061
7 Joey Logano 3045
8 Brad Keselowski 3043
9 William Byron 3039
10 Kevin Harvick 3036
11 Alex Bowman 3030
12 Christopher Bell 3018

NASCAR starting lineup at Talladega Speedway

Here is the complete NASCAR starting lineup for Monday’s playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway, the YellaWood 500.

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske Ford
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske Ford
8 P-Joey Logano 22 Penske Ford
9 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
11 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Daniel Suárez 99 Trackhouse Racing
19 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
20 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
21 Rickey Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
23 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
25 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
27 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
28 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
33 Justin Allgaier 77 Spire Motorsports
34 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Garrett Smithley 15 Rick Ware Racing
38 Justin Haley 16 Kaulig Racing
39 David Starr 66 Motorsports Business Management
40 Landon Cassill 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing

Source link