Early voting commences – San Benito News


A week after heading to the polls, Cameron County voters are once again being asked to cast their ballots in a separate runoff election.

Early voting in the Texas Southmost College District Runoff Election and the Cameron Appraisal District joint runoff election commenced this past Monday, June ,3 and will run through June 11. Election Day is slated for June 15.

On the ballot for Cameron Appraisal District Board of Directors Pl. 1 is Bill Hudson, who is going up against Alejandro Garcia-Moreno. For Pl. 2 on the board, Ruben Martinez is vying against Ricardo “Ricky” de la Garza.

According to Cameron County Elections Administrator Remi Garza, 1,283 votes have been tallied in the Cameron Appraisal District race as of Wednesday evening. The San Benito Community Building on Heywood St., the site of early voting in San Benito, recorded a mere 12 votes in the three days of early voting. The heaviest traffic is coming Tuesday, with seven voters coming in to cast their ballots.

By comparison, the Brownsville Public Library Main Branch recorded 917 voters. Another 114 voters arrived at the Judicial Complex to vote. Port Isabel City Hall saw 53 voters cast their ballots, and 61 voters reported to the Los Fresnos Community Center.

The Texas Southmost College District Runoff Election also experienced 1,283 votes cast as of Wednesday, with 53 voters arriving at Port Isabel City Hall to cast their ballots, and another 12 ballots were cast in San Benito. The three Brownsville early voting locations alone accounted for 1,099 cast ballots.

For the Texas Southmost College Board Race, Edward C. Camarillo and J.J. De Leon are competing for votes for the Pl. 6 seat on the board. Finally, Norma Lopez Harris and Hilda Silva are facing off for Pl. 7. In the May 4 General Election, Camarillo received 44.96% of the electorate for that race, equaling 4,956 votes, while De Leon tallied 3,561 votes (32.31%).

Lopez Harris earned 4,687 votes for 43.47% in the Pl. 7 race, while her opponent, Silva, netted 3,072 votes for 28.49% of the electorate.

All votes are unofficial until canvassed.

Source link